Lighting Switcheroo

Now that I have a pretty new dining room table, I’ve decided the rest of the space needs some sprucing up as well. First up was the light fixture:

I didn’t really hate it, but after 4+ years of looking at it, I was ready for something different. I looked half-heartedly at Home Depot but didn’t see anything I liked better. So I decided to experiment with the one I already had. Since I was tired of the glaring lights on the table, I thought I would try flipping the lights the other direction.

  What do you know? It was super easy: they twisted right around. Since the metal rings weren’t attached to the glass, they had to be removed and relegated to storage. Then it was time for a little bling, namely these clearance beads I found at the craft store:

            

The beads are a lovely mixture of teal, which matches our walls, and little bronze beads, which match the fixture. After twisting the necklace around the light chain, I used jewelry wire that matched the bronze color of the light to secure the necklace. For less than ten bucks, I had a new and improved light fixture:

I actually love that the light is off the table now, although it does illuminate our dreaded popcorn ceiling.

We considered removing the popcorn at one point but after looking up how to remove it, I decided what the heck, I don’t look at the ceiling that much anyway. Who knows, that spotlight might be enough to convince me to scrape it down. Or maybe I will decide to be the one person in this world who loves popcorn ceilings. It could happen.

Shared with:

Blue Cricket Design  &

The DIY Show Off

4 thoughts on “Lighting Switcheroo

Leave a Reply

